helpX Amazing Reviews

Blake- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Thank you to the whole family here at Mt Mahabarhat. We stayed for about a week and a half, which after we felt completely refreshed. A very welcoming family.

Name: Blake
From: New Zealand
Date: 21/01/2020
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

This place is dope. Lots of love.:)

Name: Juszka
From: Poland
Date: 10/06/2016
Trent- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Thoroughly enjoyed our time with Kamal and his family. They were all so welcoming and friendly. It was a really great chance to experience traditional Nepalese village life. 100% recommend staying here.

Name: Trent
From: Australia
Date: 27/04/2017
333686_1- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

When we first arrived at the farm, we were a litte bit confused about all the “rules” and “forbidden” signs. But we recognized fast,that it’s not that strikt at all. Kamal and his family are very lovely. They helped us where ever they could and made us smile every day. Thank you so much !

Name: Marlene
From: Germany
Date: 16/03/2020
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I stayed here from 12th of october to 26th of october. As a first experience in volunteering it has not let me down at all. Spent such a great time, Kamal’s family is awesome. They greeted me as a friend as their own family and made me feel at home since the very first day. Thanks for everything. I do recommend.

Name: Nicolas
From: Spain
Date: 10/11/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Harium. By choosing Kamal’s place we could never expect the two wonderful weeks we had there. We’ve been able to share incredible moments with the family around succulent food. Kamal brings a wonderful energy all around him and can take you on a unforgettable journey. By taking part in his project, we have been able to help with the preservation of mount Mahabharata and its development. If you are looking to meet the Nepali culture this is the place for you.

Name: Gaëlle
From: Belgium
Date: 06/03/2022
Jonathan- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Hari um!
I’m so grateful I found this beautiful, peaceful place close to mount Mahabharat. Kamal and his family have been really kind and caring. You will definitely get involved in te family and you will learn a lot about Nepali culture and traditions.
There was always some work to do but you would never feel like its mandatory. The family is very respectful to you and wants you to feel good.
There is always time for a hike up to the mountains which are amazing.
The food is great and also vegetarian. You will never feel hungry. You could also walk down to the village If you do want a little snack.
Also I had yoga lessons every day which has been so good for the start of the day.

Dhanyebad everybody for having me as a volunteer and I hope to see you soon.

Much love from Jonathan

Name: Jonathan
From: Netherlands
Date: 09/03/2020
Marta- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

A welcoming and peaceful stay with Kamal and his lovely family surrounded by nature. So much delicious organic food, daily yoga and meditation alongside time for reflection, topped with a stunning hike up to Mount Mahabharat. This is a truly wonderful Nepali culture homestay, I would definitely love to come back and recommend to anyone looking for a wholesome experience!! Thank you Kamal

Name: Marta
From: United Kingdom
Date: 26/01/2020
Rebecca- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Gemma and I stayed with Kamal and his family for one week. We are so grateful for the hospitality and kindness of the family! The food was absolutely amazing, as was the beauty of the valley and their constant smiles 🙂
We went on an awesome hike to Mount Mahabharat – would definitely recommend; and were guided each morning by wonderful yoga teachers Irina and Carla. This is a great place to go to experience Nepali culture and to relax, you won’t work hard (apart from climbing up the mountain!)
Thank you for teaching us about Nepali culture, the welcoming ceremony etc. We hope to see you in Australia! 😉 धन्यवाद Kamal, Goma, Gopini, Gophal, Kusal + Dennis !!

Name: Rebecca
From: Australia
Date: 20/11/2019
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Thanks very much to Kamal and all the family for such a fantastic stay. The home and farm is in a beautiful, quiet location. The food cooked by Goma and Gopini was absolutely delicious. I woke every morning feeling relaxed, refreshed and clear headed. Most importantly I felt very welcomed and enjoyed spending time with such a wonderful family!

Name: Simon
From: Singapore
Date: 10/11/2019
Léa- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

To everyone looking for a wonderful time and a genuine return to nature, Kamal’s place is where you should go.
I am very grateful for the 10 days I spent at Mount Mahabharat, and wished I could have stayed much more longer.
The beautiful family will welcome you with love and kindness, the location is peaceful and quiet. The food Gomina and Gopini will serve you is absolutely delicious. Kamal is a very interesting person, and will share his knowledge and ideas openly.
I also had the chance to meet Yogi Cas during my stay, who teached me yoga everyday and to whom I am very grateful for this precious experience that I will always carry with me now. His teachings of asanas, pranayamas and guided meditation are very clear and really valuable.
We went to the top of Mount mahabharat, lovely treck in the magical forest and ending up with a breath taking view over the area.
I hope for everyone to have the chance like me to meet and share the life of those special and deeply good human beings.

Thank you again for your welcoming and kindness!
Best, Léa

Name: Léa
From: France
Date: 03/07/2019
Cassidy- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Hello! Namaste! Yogi Cass here! (Cass short for Cassidy)

I’m the on-site, certified Hatha & Kriya Yoga Teacher.

We offer daily, donation based classes such as Yoga Asanas, 8 Forms of Ashtanga Pranayama, (focus, guided & silent) Mediation as well as an unique Yoga Nidra & Sound Healing class. As well as The Secret Cave Trek at the top of Mount Mahahbharat, herbal medicine classes & learning proper agricultural farm skills.

Kamal & his entire family are the core foundation of Mount Mahabharat’s loving & healing energy. Their hearts are pure, Goma & Gopini cook real, organic vegetarian meals + fresh milk & yogurt from Mother Cow who is loved & viewed as family.

This #1 growing retreat center is away from all city life where there’s fresh air from the robust mountains & trees. A priceless gift is the entire Himalayan Mountain Range (Mt. Everest, K2, Makalu, Manaslu, Nanda Devi + many more) can be seen! This rare view to wake up, provides crystal clear sight seeing of these powerful mountains.

Come experience Mount Mahabharat to recenter, rebalance & realign our mind, body & energetic connection. We promise you won’t be disappointed.

To find out more information message us & visit mountmahabharat.com

Dhanyavād!

Thank you!

Look forward to seeing you in the future,

Cassidy ‘Yogi Cass’ Topa

Name: Cassidy
From: United States
Date: 03/07/2019
Jacob- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I had a fantstic week at Kamal and his families lovely homestay. It is a beautiful location in the mountains and feels like a world away from Kathmandu. The family is very nice and welcoming and Goma’s fresh cooking was always the highlight of the days at the homestay. The nearby Mount Mahabharat offers great views of the himalayan range on a clear day. Overall I would definitely recomend a stay at Kamal’s homestay. You have a great oppurtunity to reflect-practice meditation, yoga, music, writing, also backgammon with Mike (he is the master haha) Also a great chance to view what Nepali culture and family is all about. I will never forget this experience.
Thank you Kamal, Goma and family!
I will be back!

Name: Jacob
From: United States
Date: 05/04/2019
Louise- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

We stayed 3 weeks with Kamal’s family. They are very kind. Kamal were most of the time outside the house, so we spent more time with Goma and Gopini who are so lovely (and great cookers!)
This is a place to relax, there is not so much to do. The view and the hikes are amazing. Come here to meditate/hike/ take your time !
We left sooner than expected because we needed action, but this was a gorgeous experience !
Danieva !

Name: Louise
From: France
Date: 17/02/2019
Aya- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Namaste everybody,

Quentin and I spent more than 3 weeks in Nepal now and I can say honestly, without any exageration that Kamal and Goma’s house is the most welcoming one.
We stayed at several hotels and homestays in Nepal and this house is by the far, the most generous and kind home we could find. We could feel the love and warmth they had for each other and this is really like fresh air when you are a tourist and when everybody looks at you like a walking wallet.

Goma and Gopini make wonderfull food. Not to spicy, not too salty but the perfect blend of everything, they know when and how much of each spice they can put to get the perfect balance. The vegetable have a fresh taste. Really they know how to cook like chefs. And they also deal with any allergy or food dislike.

Kamal has a great knowledge about meditation and yoga, and he built a place where one can easily get into those two. We didn’t go for yoga at first but we really appreciated it and loved our yoga session and meditation every day. We were really relaxed after just a few days and now we would like to continue this practice !

Beside the amazing people there, the view is really something. The moutain view and the sun in the afternoon are an experience we cannot describe by words.

We also met wonderful people there because it’s such a good place, it works like a magnet and we are deeply appreciative for meeting those people.

If there is one bad thing we could say about this place, it’s the cold in winter. When the sun leaves, it could really get freezing at night, not far from 0°C and there are no heaters. That’s why everybody would go to the kitchen at night 🙂

We really recommand this place and we hope to come back to experience again those moments of peace.

Thank you Kamal for everything !

Name: Aya
From: France
Date: 17/12/2018
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Kamal and all his family are warm and welcoming and make you feel like his place is your home away from home.

The food was delicious and rooms were nice. Kamal went the extra mile and took us tramping to the top of the mountain for some great views. I would recommend this place to others to come and check out if you want to experience life on a Nepalese organic farm! Thanks!

Name: Christopher
From: New Zealand
Date: 16/04/2018
Stephanie- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kamal’s homestay for a week. We had a very good time and it was very relaxing and the food was amazing. We were barely working two hours a day (less if we wouldn’t insist on working) so we had lots of free times. Kamal took us climbing Mt Mahabharat as well which was very nice. Few things tough, there was no yoga, no wet sauna (it is getting build), no cave or river to explore and we could barely see the Himalayas (only the top of few mountains on amazingly clear days). Didn’t change the fact that our time there was really nice and we wouldn’t hesitate to go back there on another trip.The family is very welcoming and it is a very good way to experience the Nepali culture.

Name: Stephanie
From: Canada
Date: 08/04/2018
Cat- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Kamal and his family are just lovely people. They made me feel like home. The vegetarian meals cooked by Goma are delicious and I’d never get sick of them!

The weather was pretty cold during my stay so I actually did not do much. But I really enjoyed the time spent with other volunteers and the family. I also did some hiking nearby. The view from the homestay is breathtaking and if you walk to the peak it’s even more marvellous!

It’s perfect for someone who would like to experience authentic Nepali culture or just want to be close to the nature. It’s a really unforgettable experience.

這裡很適合喜歡大自然跟想要體驗正宗尼泊爾生活的人前往,由於我去的時候是冬天,因此沒有很多事要做,所以有很多時間跟當地住宿的家人相處,以及與其他義工分享旅遊心德,絕對是令人難忘的體驗。

從民宿望出去的景色非常優美,附近亦有很多行山徑,如果有時間還可以走上山頂,欣賞無止盡的山脈景色。閒餘時還可以在陽光的照耀下看書,或靜靜地觀察當地村民的日常生活,享受一下簡單的快樂。

Name: Cat
From: Hong Kong
Date: 18/02/2018
Samuel- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I spent a little more than a week at Kamal’s Homestay and enjoyed every minute of it. Kamal and his family are so welcoming and I met so many wonderful people there. The farm is very well located and far from the noises of the city and a little walk down brings you to the lovely village of Dhungkarka. You can enjoy the view from the homestay and the sunrises (especially from Mount Mahabharat) are simply stunning! There wasn’t a lot to work on when I was there so it’s a very chill out an relaxing environment. We got to work on a project to build a sauna though and it was very interesting. overall it’s the perfect place if you want to relax and get away from the madness of Kathmandu or any big city. Thank you again Kamal, Goma and all the family. You made my stay in Nepal very special. Hope to be back some time !!

Name: Samuel
From: France
Date: 16/02/2018
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I just finished my stay here, I stayed 3 weeks there. It was great, good atmosphere and good food, if you like hiking you will like the hike to the top of the mountain. The view of the Himalayas is incredible and even in Kamal and his family’s house the view is also great.

I recommend to anyone who wants an authentic Nepalese culture experience and who likes calm relaxed nature atmosphere and good organic food to come visit.

Dhanyabad Kamal
and Dhanyabad to your great family

Name: Carl
From: Canada
Date: 01/02/2018
Celine- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I was grateful to stay with Kamal and his family surrounded by beautiful nature and a great Mountain View. At Kamal’s place you will get lovely organic food and have good company. The rooms are very well equipped, but can be quite cold in winter time, so make sure to bring thermal underwear or enough clothes if you go in the cold season. When the sun is up, it’s great and you can go on many beautiful treks in the area. Would highly recommend to someone who would like to experience Nepalese village culture.
Thank you for everything! Hope to see you again.

Name: Celine
From: Denmark
Date: 27/01/2018
Jhulielli- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Was a wonderful experience stay with Kamal and his family! The food was amazing, so healthful, you can have fresh milk, honey and vegetables! The place is quite with a very nice view! The people that I meet there and the guide of the treeking are so nice too, we shared unforgettables moments together! I really recommend this farm for everyone! Thank you very much for everything! I so grateful brothers and sisters! Deep sleep;-)

Name: Jhulielli
From: Brazil
Date: 09/11/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I had the nicest, truest and most authentic experience at Kamal’s place. In December, not much work to do but living with the family has been so great, learning about nepalese and countryside culture. Such a nice and caring family. Also did some meditation with Kamal and a few wonderful walks in the mountains. It’s a great place to get from the outside world and rest. I was there almost three weeks from December 21st to January 15th. I would recommend to bring warm gears as it was cold in morning and night time. Very Great experience. Food is amazing! Highly recommend.

Name: Lenaig
From: France
Date: 25/01/2018
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Kamal and his are family are top notch!! I stayed for 10 days and although there wasn’t much to do Kamal made it his mission to take me to the surrounding temples and go on amazing treks with ‘180 degree Himalaya views’ as he would always say! Food fantastic. Beds basic but warm. Hot showers. Views something you won’t experience anywhere else. If you need anything Kamal will sort it. Quite chilly in the morning and evening, bring warm clothes for winter.

Name: Johnathon
From: United Kingdom
Date: 20/01/2018
Amelie- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Difficult to find words for an experience like this. Kamal, his family, his village are such wonderful people. This was my first time in Népal and it give me the opportunity to see Nepalese culture. This isn’t for younif you look for daily farm work, but if you want to have an amazing time with coma and kamal’s mum while you’re cooking… you’ll love it ! I enjoyed so much to spend my free time with the friends I made there, kamal’s sons and the locals as soon as you go out. I’ll remember those two amazing hikes that we did with a stunning view (although you don’t need to hike for that), this good evenings we had laughing together and playing with the kids of the neighbourhood.
Kamal, a huge thank you ! I’ll come back, I’m not crying outside but inside and …. DEEP SLEEP of coursue !

Name: Amelie
From: France
Date: 10/11/2017
Flo- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Kamal and his family are such beautiful people.
I recommend this place to everyone who wants to experience nepali culture. It’s a place where you never stop to learn. People are amazing and kids give you the biggest smile. You are so in touch with nature, there is so much to explore. You can take a trek and anytime you will meet an inhabitant who will show you stunning landscapes and secret spots, perfect for meditation.
Quality of food is absolutely unreachable. I never eaten so well and healty. Before going to bed we were used to have buffalo milk.
Go to kamal farmstay you will never regret it!
Thank you so much brothers and sisters
I’m very glad to come and stay with you
DEEP SLEEEEP
Flo

Name: Flo
From: Italy
Date: 09/11/2017
Margret- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Kamal and his family are very helpful and welcoming. If you want to get out from the hectic Kathmandu, this is the perfect place to stay and relax. The food is very good and they are so friendly and kind people. Amazing nature and views from the house.
Thank you Kamal!

Name: Margret
From: Estonia
Date: 07/11/2017
Alona- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I spent 12 days at Kamal’s beautiful place, and it was an authentic and definetely unforgettable experience for me. Living with this family was a real pleasure, I enjoyed observing the life of the people in the village and having time to myself, to explore and to think. It is a great place to calm your mind and change your perception of life, practice meditation and yoga, walk, draw or write, or whatever you feel like doing. The people are very welcoming, the landscape is stunning and ever changing. You can help out with the daily work on the farm, play with the kids or give a hand with the cooking and I liked sharing these moments with other volunteers and the family. I have never eaten so well, the food is organic, very local and delicious, I will miss it a lot! Meeting and talking with guests was also a highlight of my visit.
I recommend this place to independent and curious-minded people, who would like to learn about life in a nepalese village and help out with a great project.
Thank you Kamal and family for introducing me to Nepal, I will often think about you during my travels. Good luck to you for the future, and I hope to come back someday!

Name: Alona
From: France
Date: 12/10/2017
Dylan- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

If you are looking for an authentic introduction to Nepalese village culture, with a stunning backdrop of forested hills and vast skies, then I highly recommend Mt. Mahabharat Eco-Homestay.
The emphasis is less on the fulfilment of particular projects, but more on cultural integration and participation in the day to day workings of family life. You will have ample time to read, reflect and wander around the village area.
Kamal and his family are incredibly welcoming and warm and my fondest memories are playing with his two sons and the village children in the evenings.
If you are looking for a much more hands-on project, with structured work and rest times then this may not suit you.
But overall I found the experience very interesting and also very useful to calm my mind, especially having spent a couple of months in India, where tranquility was a rare commodity.
Beautiful setting, lovely people.
Thank you Kamal and family!

Name: Dylan
From: United Kingdom
Date: 10/10/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Hi there

I stayed at the farm when I first arrived in Nepal, here I was welcomed very warmly by the whole family and shown my room, that evening I was introduced to the Chandi drumming temple where I assisted with some handicapping to some beautiful drumming by the hosts.
What I enjoy about this place is that other than being the most peaceful tranquil place I’ve been in Nepal it was the right environment to enter into for me and I was able to fast easily here and practice yoga all in. my own time, I also enjoyed accompanying Krishna on his either morning bare foot jogs or evening. the place gets good sunlight and is a small jungle behind and a shop not far away.
The family are great and the place is really worth a visit, very relaxing and comfortable with everything you need. Strongly recommend.
P.S the trek to the Chandi temple (above the clouds) strongly recommend.

Namaste 🙂

Victoria

Name: Victoria
From: United Kingdom
Date: 27/09/2017
Aude- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Namaste!! Thank you Kamal for this retreat in peace surrounded by this wonderful Mt Mahabharat Range. I will come back as I left books in your house 🙂 and because I want to hike at the top!!
Between children, Goma and Gopini and the Italian lovely volunteers, I began to approach the nepali culture, food and to create friendships. I stay impressed by the house you build, resistant and beautiful! See you soon and cheers!

Name: Aude
From: France
Date: 07/09/2017
Michela- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Dhungkarka is really an amazing place. High in the mountains, you will totally forget noise and dust from the city. This is not the best season because of so much rain, but as soon as the clouds drift away the view is breathtaking, and by night there are millions of stars shining.
Kamal and his family will make you feel completely at ease, lots of food, and such great food. Him and his two kids are pure TNT, we had tons of fun. Watch out for the bad boys 😉
The only disappointment is that there wasn’t much work to do, because of weather, but since it was the end of our journey some relax was just as fine. Also, thank to this we could spend a lot of time with other volunteers, getting to know each other and making new friendships. We recommend Kamal’s place to everybody!
Thanks for everything!!

Name: Michela
From: Italy
Date: 26/08/2017
James- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

We stayed at Kamal’s farm for one week and had a wonderful time. The setting was very relaxed, and we were given opportunities to help with things if we wanted or just to relax as well.

Kamal and his family are very nice and welcoming and made us feel right at home. There was spiced tea several times a day, and the big, delicious meals of dal bhat with fresh produce and fresh buffalo milk always filled us up and made us feel great! The kids are a lot of fun, and everyone was very hospitable as well as enjoyable to talk to.

The setting is amazing…Everywhere on and around the property has a beautiful view as far as the eye can see, all the way to the Himalayas on a clear day! Despite arriving during monsoon season, there were still many hours of clear sky for us to see where we were…up on the side of a mountain! The air is clean and fresh, as well as the water, and theres no problem with mosquitos or anything like that. The land and the people there are so full of life it’s really an enjoyable experience being there.

Accommodations are great: There are separate bedrooms for multiple volunteers, and the wifi and power is always on. Toilet paper is provided as well as a nice refreshing shower or lovely creek to bathe/swim in. We had a great time playing in the water and building a dam so the swimming hole could be deeper.

Kamal took us for a one day hike up to the top of Mt. Mahabharat, and wow! The most amazing geography in this natural environment, and spectacular views! The peak has rain shelters, and if you climb just above them you can see the mountain drop away in three directions! This hike was not extremely difficult, and we took breaks to eat, and it was entirely worth the experience. We also learned about several different wild medicinal plants, insects, birds, trees and other interesting features on this hike.

We had a wonderful time and a great experience at Kamal’s in Nepal, and we hope to travel to this part of the world again to return there. Thanks again for everything!

Name: James
From: United States
Date: 25/08/2017
Haonan- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I had a brilliant stay in Kamal’s home and it is absolutely one of my best traveling experience.

At the moment I got to Kathmandu I felt the best welcome from Kamal because he came to airport to pick me up.And after a pretty long way we finally got into his room.There were several other volunteers there Celine and Yann from Switzerland, Anna from Chile, Sandirino from Portugal they are so nice guys and I also have a good talking with them, really hope to see you again.
Besides,the other family members are also very nice,Goma made fresh buffalo milk, 100% organic vegetarian food and fabulous tea everyday which are super delicious :).And I really felt that they treated me as one of their family members.

Actually we don’t need to do much work so we have plenty of time to do reading and meditation and communicating with each other.

The natural views here are super charming and it is even better when you go trekking into the Mt.Mahabharat.I strongly recommend you to go trekking in good weather because the top mountain view will beyond your imagination.

I love everything here but the accommodation is only basic so you cannot expect to much, and because I am allergic to dust mite so I felt a little uncomfortable in the room when I felt bad with my nose and eyes Goma care a lot about me so I feel very grateful for that.

Hope to come back soon and meet this lovely family again! 🙂

应Kamal的请求,我也留一段中文评论。在这个小村里的两周时间过的非常幸福,民风淳朴,风景优美,纯素食的三餐比我想象中好吃很多。后山徒步虽然有点辛苦但是山顶的风景棒呆。每天和来自不同国家的志愿者交流你会发现原来人生有那么多的可能性,同时也会意识到学好英语的重要性哈哈。很棒的经历,推荐!

Name: Haonan
From: China
Date: 21/07/2017
Andreas- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I really want to thank you Kamal and your wonderful family for allowing me to stay with you for two weeks and making me feel so welcome since the very beginning. Got to experience traditional nepali culture, work in nature, eat healthy organic food and take a breath from my everyday life. It truly was a return to nature experience.
Until we meet again, take care dai.

Name: Andreas
From: Cyprus
Date: 23/05/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

We had a nice time at Kamal’s place. We had a lot of freetime to read, walk around, relax or enjoy time with the other guests as there was not much work to do. Dhungkharka is a beautiful and calm village with an amazing view of the himalaya mountains if the weather is good. And Kamal’s family is very nice: Goma and Gopini cook really good traditional food and they care a lot about their guests. If you really want to do farm work you might feel unsatisfied but for calming down and getting to know Nepali rural life we can definitely advice you to go there.

Name: Mirjam
From: Germany
Date: 16/04/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

If you want to enjoy the Nepal countryside with the view of the Himalayas peaks in bonus, chill out or help around and learn about Nepali culture, we definitely advise you yo do it with Kamal and his sweet family : his wife, his kids and his parents will take care of you and make your stay at Dungkharka wonderful. We’ll miss them and the travelers we met there.

Name: Sarah
From: France
Date: 12/04/2017
Chris- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

such a beautiful and accomadating family. From the very first time I met kamal and the family I instantly felt welcome and part of this family. It actually left me with a huge smile on my face.
I have been travelling for 1 year 5 months and this family, culture, and the kindness made me feel like I have a second home. The farms sourounding landscapes and views are incredible. Even better when you trek into the Forrest and view points. The season I arrived In, there wasn’t to much work to do. But I kept myself busy by helping with any harvesting or random jobs asked of me., i decided to go for many runs in the picturesk mountains. There are plenty of places to trek, meditate and learn about nature. I had such a pleasant stay and the food was great.

Thank you

Chris Rosling

Name: Chris
From: United Kingdom
Date: 31/05/2017
Aurelia- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

We are stay only 4 days but we had a nice stay with this cute family. The grandma and Gauma are really attentive to us and they cooked really good food. Kamal was really helpfull and answered to our trip question. It’s was a pleasure to stay with a Nepalese family in this beautiful setting.
The 2 boys are really cute and funny we enjoy to play with them.

Thank you really much
Namaste
Pauline & Aurelia

Name: Aurelia
From: France
Date: 29/03/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I had a very memorable time with Kamal and his family. There was not really any work to do because the season but there was opportunities to trek in the mountains, visit the village, meet village people and spend time with the children. It is an ideal place for those that like the peace and quiet, like to meditate, do yoga, write or whatever they choose to pass the time. The scenery is stunning. The food is traditional and really good. There is always enough to eat. When you stay you will be treated as family so the atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

Name: James
From: Australia
Date: 29/03/2017
Franziska- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I stayed at this farm for only two weeks, but I had a very good time! The first week I stayed with Kiran and his family at another farm which was very close to this one and then I moved to this farm. Both stays made me feel being part of the family and I’m pretty sure everyone will feel like a family member after a few days!The beautiful surrounding made out of mountains, pine trees, yellow mustard, green beans or red rhododendron flowers is a remedy for the body and the soul. There was not so much work to do as I expected but everyone may decide for himself if this is good or bad :)for me it was the right mixture of working and having enough time for learning about myself. Everyone who loves nature, wants to experience rural farmlife and a very warmhearted and loving family, is here at the right place.

I thank you very much for all the funny, tasty and warm moments! Even if I have to leave now, I hope my way will lead me again and maybe for a longer time to this place.

Writing a review was always difficult but now it’s even more! I can’t really describe in words what I experienced here. The best thing would be to just visit this farm and to make your own experineces. They’ll be different for erveryone but always wonderful, that I can tell!

Ma yo pariwar maya garchu!
Dhanyabad!

Franziska

Name: Franziska
From: Germany
Date: 15/02/2017
Samantha- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I had a wonderful 11 nights in Dhungkharka during this winter season. I was staying with Kiran and his family and a variety of other guests and also spent some time with Kamal’s extended family who live close by. Both men are working together to promote and uplift their village through homestay/volunteering. I found the farm, natural surroundings and the other villagers to be totally wonderful. I was also impressed with the epic views of the Himalayas, the tasty organic food and I learnt so much from Kiran and his daughters who were visiting from KTM. Kiran’s wife Annu is a wonderful cook and I never went hungry! I was also warmly welcomed by other neighbouring villagers, and loved interacting with the local children who often stopped by after school to do some painting with me. There wasn’t a huge amount of work to do while I was there but each day I helped out with different activities that are a daily part of Nepali village life. I felt so at home and it was very hard to leave!! I would definitely recommend hiking up to Narayansthan as the views are incredible and there is a lovely Hindu temple at the top also. If you go in winter it is very cold at night so bringing a sleeping bag and thermals for extra warmth!! The days were sunny though (apart from the surprise snowfall we had for a few days! ) I would really like to commend Kiran on being such a wonderful host. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very attentive with a heart of gold. Thanks for everything Kiran and Kamal. I shall return!!

Name: Samantha
From: Australia
Date: 10/01/2017
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Thanks to Kamal and his wonderful family and community in Dhungarka for hosting me for three weeks! We had wonderful time together sharing meaningful work, other international guests and traditional Nepali lifestyle (farming, wonderful food, good hiking to view of himalayas and of course chai tea). You are a wonderful place to be part of…all the best to you…

Name: Joey
From: United States
Date: 22/12/2016
Rocio- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Kamal and his family are amazing hosts!

Was a wonderful experience to stay in the farm with them and all the volunteers, really good times, we made an international family. In winter there are no much work to do, so was just feel, breath clean air, and learn of nepali culture. And in fact was very special learning.

Kamal’s farm is one of most beautiful places I have never been, 180° Himalayas view everyday in front of you. Surroundings are beautiful too. Local people is very curious and receives you with smiles every day. We were in town temple during big festival, and felt welcomed in every moment. You feel just at home.

Goma and Gopini are wonderful women and cookers, we ate a lot of delicious vegetarian organic food, and fresh buffalo milk. They took care of us as loving mothers 🙂

The children are amazing, pure joy. Was very special share playtime with them

This project has a big big potential. Still in the beginnings, I am sure Kamal will do a lot of amazing things with all future volunteers. I am looking forward for came back, now I feel them as my nepali family as well.

Name: Rocio
From: Spain
Date: 20/12/2016
Eric- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

My experience here was overwhelmingly positive. First and foremost, Kamal and his family are great people with a great outlook and philosophy on life. They work very hard to make the volunteers feel welcome and comfortable and they do it all with a smile. I learned a lot from them and I am very grateful for that.

During my two week stay there was unfortunately not a whole lot of work to do, as the farming season was over and there was a big festival taking place in the village. But this gave me and the other volunteers a chance to spend quality time with Kamal’s family and meet many different people from the area. The people here are incredibly friendly, curious and positive. The children, in particular, are so free and cheerful. It’s infectious. One cannot stay unhappy in this place.

Also, as I understand it, this farmstay project is still in its infancy. Kamal has plans to expand the operation, improve facilities, develop programs and so on. I feel like there is so much potential here for a wonderful partnership between the volunteers at the farmstay and the greater community. But there is a lot of work to be done!

In terms of facilities and day to day life, this is a rural village, so don’t expect luxury. But the toilet is cleaned regularly, the beds are decent, and they will heat you up some water to shower with. And like I said, upgrades are planned. The volunteers have a separate home to stay in, which is a great perk. But it can get pretty cold at night. The food was delicious and plentiful, Goma and Gopini are great cooks. I’m not a vegetarian, but I felt so good after eating organic food for two weeks that I’m seriously planning to make some changes to my diet.

Otherwise, the sheer beauty of the place is definitely something to behold. And I strongly recommend going on a trek to one of the Mahabharat peaks. It’s a pretty amazing place, all told. And I’m looking forward to coming back! Thanks Kamal and Family, will see you again soon 😀

Name: Eric
From: Canada
Date: 18/12/2016
Viann Pui Yan- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I have to say the days I stayed in Kamal family is one of my best experience in Nepal!

The whole family are so welcoming and treat you as one of their family member, thank you for the fresh buffalo milk, 100% organic everyday, super delicious=), and i have learned how to make milk tea as well.

Because of the season, there is not much work for volunteers, so better you help yourself to find some entertainment, like trekking, reading, doing yoga, or enjoy the beautiful nature here.

Hope to come back soon and meet this beautiful family again! Thank you again=)

Name: Viann Pui Yan
From: Hong Kong
Date: 14/12/2016
Connor- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

What a place! Kamal you have something special here!

I want to Thank you And your wonderful family for having us And making us So welcomed here! Best organic food You’ll Ever eat!

Workimg on the farm was a pleasure, Never Too hard!

The trekkimg was a fantastic bonus And all the volunteers And I had a Great time! We’re a family now !

I’ll be back Very soon my friend.

Name: Connor
From: France
Date: 12/12/2016
Mitchel- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Hey Kamal. I am about too leave, so while I am still enjoying your company and the lovely caring of the family. I might aswell wright a review.

First of all thank you Kamal, Goma, Gopapi, Gopal, Kushal, Jenish. You have showed, given, took care of me so much. I’ll never forget. It’s been a wonderful experience.

It wasn’t always easy talking with Kamal, I think it is mostly the language barrier, even though he speaks english fairly well, but the understanding is less. And that he had a lot on his mind during my stay there, as he was preparing for a mega event in his community. Which should be finished next week.

Kamal’s place is suited between some nice mountain ridges, there is good trekking possibility. If your are into meditation or yoga, you will enjoy the views and find peace and rest in the forest. If you walk outside your bedroom you will see a 180 degree view of snowy tops of the Himalaya. The place is slowly developing, and there is room for creativity and innovation. Kamal will start building the second and maybe third floor of a building soonish. In January he wants to start a project called “Back to nature”. He might need some help with this.

I really loved the place, and if I come back Asia, this will be one of the places I would like to visit again.

Thank you so much Kamal, and your family for making my stay a true Nepali experience!

But now “I gotta get out!!”

Namaskar & Suba din!

Name: Mitchel
From: Netherlands
Date: 10/12/2016
Michael- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I can honestly say that my time here has been magical to say the least. The hospitality from Kamal and his family has been incredible. They made us feel instantly welcome and we have been blessed with their kindness. The food you receive is 100% organic, straight from their garden; a perfect place for vegetarians and vegans. Even though our stay was relatively short, I feel that I have learned a lot about Nepalese culture. Staying with Kamal and his family has made me realise many things about myself; things I want to change for the greater good. I consider this a valuable experience and fully recommend this place to any traveler wishing to embrace Nepal and its wonders. Thank you for this beautiful experience, hope to see you again.

Name: Michael
From: United Kingdom
Date: 10/11/2016
Lyhoa- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

This place is truly amazing, we spent only 5 nights here but could have stayed a lot longer if we had the time. Kamal and his family go out of their way to make sure your experience here is as comfortable as possible. Kamals wife Goma is a fantastic cook and it was so awesome to have such an authentic Nepali experience and see the traditional Nepali kitchen and cooking. The view from the front door is breathtaking as you stare down the giant himalaya mountain range and the view from atop Mt Mahabharat is even more incredible as you have a 180 degree view including Everest. All the food is organically grown on the farm and on your plate within hours of being picked! Kamal is dedicated to making sure everybodys time here is memorable and really looks after his guests, one night I had an asthma attack and he had me at the hospital in 5 minutes where i received treatment.
Thanks again for making our time here so amazing, i look forward to seeing you all again one day.

Name: Lyhoa
From: Australia
Date: 07/11/2016
Simon - France- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

It was a wonderful stay, in this beautiful area. Kamal and Goma and all the family are very nice people and take care about us very well! We enjoyed the food,Goma and Goby are great cooker, they cook and received us with lot of love.We have been to the Mt mahabharat twice, and we slept on a top, it was amazing view of the himalaya. We try to help them a little bit on the farm, but there is no much work to do. But, dont hesite to come to join this beautiful family, and share moments with them,you will never regret, and want to come back! We had nice rest now we are ready to go back on our bicycle… Thank you, we will miss you..Simon and Alison

Name: Simon
From: France
Date: 31/10/2016
Sebastian- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I stayed for 10 days here and it was of the most memorable experiences I had while travelling through Nepal. The location is incredible as you are surrounded by beautiful landscape.

Kamal and his family are genuine and very kind people. They welcome you as a member of their own family and I enjoyed sharing every meal with them. You will have freshly made vegetarian food with ingredients grown on their farm.

It was unfortunately a prolonged monsoon period when I was there so work was sporadic. Kamal and his wife are always happy to teach you about Nepalese life, you just have to ask so don’t be shy 🙂 One of the highlights was trekking with Kamal to top of Mount mahabharat and seeing the sunrise over the Himalayas. The view is spectacular and better than some of the more touristy places near Kathmandu.

There is a long list of volunteering and learning opportunities listed on the Helpx page, but it depends on the time of year what is available. I highly recommend you contact Kamal first to check what you can participate in. There is a lot of free time for yourself so keep that in mind. It is the perfect opportunity to take time out for yourself.

I’m very grateful to Kamal and his family for hosting me and I hope to return one day to see them again.

Name: Sebastian
From: United Kingdom
Date: 28/10/2016
Konstantina- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I visited the farm of kamal with 2 spanish friends in september for about a week. I had an amazing experience living at his place with his family, we all felt like family members as well and learned about the local life of people in the mountains. I highly recommend to any travellers to visit his farm and have a small trek at Mahabarat mountain. Thank you once again for everything and for making us feel so warm and comfortable in your house. My hugs and greetings to all of your family!
See you brother!

Name: Konstantina
From: Greece
Date: 06/10/2016
Nguyen- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Due to tight schedule, first I planned to stay in Dhungkharka for only one week. Then I happily ‘had to’add one, two, three more days to finish making a swing for the kids 🙂
Thank you Kamal, Goma, Gobie, Kushal, Jenis… for your warm hospitality, delicious food, for everything.
Kamal asked me if they should change something here and my answer is that they don’t need to change anything. Let things be simple and natural as they are here.
Being from an agriculture-based country, I am not strange to mountainous life but only when living here did I really enjoy every single day in the harmony with nature.
Basically, there are not many works to do depending on agricultural season. So please don’t expect too much and prepare for the days with extra time to look into yourself. It’s up to us to make ourselve busy with sudden ideas.
It’s my recommendation that you can help something to improve the study of the kids (At the moment, making study table/chair, bookshelf and a sharing corner for the next people comimg. You can have disused woods from a nearby carpenter workshop in the bazaar, I suppose). Kamal has several upcoming projects like herbal farm, another wooden house and meditation area, so it will be great if you can do him a favor.
Thanks so much! It is not goodbye, it is ‘see you again’, Kamal family.
With all the best <3
Co Mi from Vietnam

Name: Nguyen
From: Vietnam
Date: 05/10/2016
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Dear Kamal and Gomal!
I thank you so much for giving me a home for a week on your beautiful farm in Dhungkharka. It was a great pleasure to be with you and your family! This week flew by too quickly. The incredible delicious food was a highlight too – every day! All round a fantastic time with great company!
Thanks!

Name: Uta
From: Germany
Date: 05/10/2016
Adrien- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I stayed in Kamal’s farm for 2 weeks and enjoyed my stay. The place is really peaceful and the views of the mountains breathtaking.
The whole family is welcome you with open arms and you feel at ease really quickly
Be aware that there is not much work here for volunters, none most of the time, so if you don’t know how to occupy yourself you won’t enjoy the place
Thank you Kamal for everything (and for your tomato sauce, wouah !)and thank you to Goma and Gopini for their unconditional kindness and delicious food that they always prepared.
I will definitely be back in this beautiful family, Namaste Adrien

Name: Adrien
From: France
Date: 04/10/2016
Eileen- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Namaste
I have been here for two weeks now and I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience with Kamal’s homestay! His family welcomed me with open arms as well as the people of Dhungkarka! I was honored to experience the rich culture, lush green mountainside,and learning about Nepali cooking too! Even though it rained daily the sun comes out pretty quick right after! I look forward to coming back next year! Kamal’s famiy like my own now! Thank you Kamal, family, and Dhungkarka for an amazing time!

Name: Eileen
From: United States
Date: 10/09/2016
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

We have thoroughly enjoyed our short but sweet stay with Kamal and his family. We stayed about a week, and cannot wait to come back next year when its not monsoon season. The location is absolutely breathtaking with peaceful views of the surrounding Himalayas, although limited during our time. There are no tourists, no pollution, no automobiles, just tranquil space to return to nature and soak in your surroundings. Kamal and his family have so many amazing upcoming projects and ideas, especially the non profit organization “Return to Nature.” They are planning on having accommodation for many more volunteers very soon, and we would highly recommend any one interested and proactive to visit. This is a very new farm and it will only blossom from here on out. We cannot wait to come back and help out more in so many aspects! Dhanyabad ( THANKYOU ) Kamal and Family for your love, for your mission, and this amazing authentic Nepali experience. So much love from the both of us!!!

Name: Nate
From: United States
Date: 31/07/2016
Lindy- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I had a fabulous stay in Dhungkharka!! Kamal and his family have a beatufiul energy and way of life…. fresh buffalo milk, curd and delicous organic dinners everynight.
They really make you feel at home…. they welcome you in with open arms. Because it was low season, there wasnt work which was a bit dissapointing but they have many upcoming projects so I am imagine in the fall this will change!!

highly recommended for a local and authentic Nepal experience 🙂

Name: Lindy
From: Canada
Date: 22/06/2016
Madison- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

My time at Kamal’s farm was one of my favorite moments of traveling. He and his family were so very kind and made our stay quite comfortable. The location is incredible with amazing views and equally incredible hiking spots nearby. Everything from the food to the general hospitality was fantastic and I cannot wait to return to Dhungkarka. It is a great place to explore and the surrounding villagers were very friendly; always inviting us for tea or something to eat. On top of that, the farm offers a great viewing of stars and quite a peaceful environment. Would recommend this for anyone who enjoys outdoors and adventurous roads.

Name: Madison
From: United States
Date: 10/06/2016
Júlia- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Namaste!
I have enjoyed every single day from my three-week stay in the farm. Breathing fresh air, surrounded by magnific views and the most important, warmed by a very lovely family. The work in the farm is small (future helpers will be able to help building a new wooden house) but I learnt so much by just watching them living. From plants to animals (buffalos and bees), cooking skills or its educational system. Thanks to all the family but specially to the women of the house, for all the good moments we spent on the kitchen and enjoying your delicious meals!!

Name: Júlia
From: Spain
Date: 29/05/2016
Coline- Bethanchok -3 Dhunkharka Kavre Nepal
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

Even if I was there for a short stay, the life at Kamal’s farm has been very well. From Kathmandu I took 2 different buses and then Kamal was already there to welcome me. And the adventure started. We had a little walk through the hills to reach the farm. (thank you again Kamal for helping me in carrying my bag!)
The nature over there is so beautiful. And I enjoyed being far from the traffic and the pollution.
Because in the Kamal’s farm, there is no car. Only fields, buffalos and forests.
The “helpx” program is still in progress. It is, at the moment, more a homestay than a working place. But I also think it all depend of people who come visit. I had a very relaxing and peaceful stay.
I definitely recommend to come meet Kamal and Goma, you will enjoy the food, their smiles, their kindness…

Thank you again for your hospitality,
hopefully I will come visit again!

Name: Coline
From: France
Date: 22/05/2016
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting
starratting

I spent 10 days with Kamal and his family in the small rural viallge of Dhungkarka, and I couldn’t be more satisfied with my experience. They took me in with open arms and open hearts. If you would like to experience true Nepali culture then I would highly recommend visiting this organic farming community. The villagers are very kind and will welcome you into their homes with tea and big smiles 🙂
Kamal is a revolutionary! He has big dreams and lots of ambition for this entire community. Currently the homestay program is in the developing phase, but they are building more houses and rooms for guests to stay. I was one of the first people to contact Kamal through helpx and he made the entire process very easy. He even guides hiking tours up into the nearby peak (Mt. Mahabarat) and from there you can view the Himalaya in all its beauty. All tours and sightseeing are free of charge to volunteers. I look forward to returning to Dhungkarka in the future and working with Kamal again 🙂

Name: Austin
From: United States
Date: 25/04/2016